A Tribute to Her

I think many of us have heard the story of the teenage girl in the Dominican Republic. For those who haven’t, I’ll summarize it for you: This girl had leukemia and for about a month, she was denied treatment because she was pregnant. The chemotherapy would’ve terminated her pregnancy and abortion is a sin in the Dominican Republic. She did eventually begin to receive treatment, but it had no effect. After having a miscarriage and going into cardiac arrest, she died.

While she may have still died with immediate treatment, I believe her chances of survival would’ve been higher. Her life took a backseat to her unborn baby’s. Now, both are dead. To me, that’s unacceptable. Her life should’ve been the first priority, not her pregnancy.

I made this as a tribute to her. Because she was a minor, her name wasn’t stated and there is no picture of her, but she is in my thoughts.

Article here: http://edition.cnn.com/2012/08/17/world/americas/dominican-republic-abortion/index.html

2 thoughts on “A Tribute to Her

  1. Her life took a backseat to her unborn baby’s. Now, both are dead. To me, that’s unacceptable.

    Couching your ideas in the anti-choice language distorts what you are trying to say. It was a fetus, not a baby. Acorns are not oak trees.

    Please enjoy your eternal life in heaven

    Meaningless pap at its finest. I hope it makes *you* feel better. Because she still died needlessly here on earth in the real world; where it counts.

    She died unnecessarily because of the religious dogma that put her life second. Her life was cut short needlessly because of continued irrational belief in bronze age mythology; the same mythology you evoke now in your “tribute”.

    The irony, obviously lost on you, is appalling.

    Like

    • Didn’t I say she left too soon? I think that’s saying she died needlessly.

      Whether it’s “meaningless” is not the point. A tribute is supposed to speak kindly of the person it’s about. Wishing her happiness, regardless of her state, falls under that. What else was I supposed to say? “I hope your lifeless body enjoys the cold ground”?

      Also, I’m angry at the people who caused this, not her country as a whole. I think the DR is Catholic and I’m not sure if Catholics believe in heaven, but that final line was an attempt to show a little respect for her and what she may have believed.

      Besides, what good will it do to focus on the negative for her? She’s gone. Saying something nice, anything nice, is probably the best thing anyone here can do. The Dominican Republic is not the USA. We can only hope what happened to her does not repeat in the future. It’s up to the DR’s government to change the law.

      Everything I stated in this card is possibly myth. I said she was beautiful, smart, strong and kind-hearted, yet I do not know if any of this is true about her. She could’ve been ugly, unintelligent, weak and the nastiest person who lived. The silhouette may not even be close to what she looked like. But, of course, I’m not going to say any of that.

      If you don’t like what I have to say about her, fine. I don’t care because I have no time to argue with someone over a small statement. I just hope you don’t say that crap at someone’s funeral.

      Tenga un buen día.

      Like

Share your thoughts!

