Two Careers In One?

First off, let me just say I didn’t post about the Six Flags trip because it was awful. And no, I didn’t meet Sunny. I don’t know exactly what happened, but I don’t think he even came. The last time I was able to talk to him before going, he wasn’t feeling very well. Now, that that’s out of the way…

About two months ago, I posted about my biggest dream. Now, something has changed. Or rather, something been added.

Instead of a web designer, I seem to find myself wanting to become an animator. My mind has changed three times over the course of two years. When I mentioned this to a fave blogger of mine, she told me I could be all of those things and I shouldn’t limit myself. But the truth is I’m afraid to pursue either of those dreams. Art careers are notorious for being risky and the phrase “starving artist” exists for a reason. I gave up the first goal (which I will not mention, but it wasn’t art-related) because I’m clumsy and could hardly stay awake for the lectures (14 years of sitting and being lectured is enough). Granted, if I were to attend college for design or animation, it might be similar, but I don’t think sitting and reading out of a textbook is all that’d be happening. The blogger’s advice in regards to becoming a freelance animator was:

As far as I can tell, the secret is simply to make stuff, share it with as many people as possible and network a lot.

I don’t know how to network, but all in all, it sounds like a good start and it’ll let me know if I really want to stick with it or not. Of course, some programs for animation would be needed first. All I have is Photoshop, which I don’t even use to draw. I use it to add text, effects, and backgrounds. I was considering making an art blog on Tumblr, but I’ll probably just combine it with my main one until I’m certain I like what I’m doing. I already made the mistake of going to college against my wishes once. I’m not going to do it again.

One thought on “Two Careers In One?

  1. Networking is just interacting with people, you never know who may need a web designer. Some of the people that I watch on YouTube mention they’re looking for a freelance artist. The internet is a great help for this type of thing.

    Liked by 1 person

Share your thoughts!

